Friend Us on Facebook
  • Home
  • Honorary Judges

2012 Honorary Judges

Jack Passey - Honorary ChairJack Passey - Honorary Chair, has had a lifelong love affair with old cars. In 1932, at the age of 6, he could identify every make of car on the road. By age 19, Jack owned a 1927 Essex, a 1928 Buick and a 1936 Ford Convertible Coupe. By his mid-twenties, Jack had acquired a 1923 Lincoln Phaeton, a 1932 Cadillac Speedster, a 1925 Stutz Brougham, a 1931 Pierce-Arrow, 1930 and 1933 Cadillac V-16s, a 1937 Packard V-12 and a 1934 Dietrich Packard V-12. He did all of this while attending college and operating a one-man auto-repair business. So began his lifelong quest to have fine old cars from the wreckers.

Jack’s encyclopedic knowledge of old cars and his photographic memory has led to a five-decade-long concours judging career at such events as the Lincoln Owners Club, the CCCA Grand Experience and the Pebble Beach Concours d’Elegance. Jack has judged at the world-renowned Pebble Beach show for over 35 years.

Joe Brilando - Chief Honorary JudgeJoe Brilando – Chief Honorary Judge, is a venture capitalist and business consultant. He is Past President of the Candy Store, and an active member of the car club for Concours, racing and rally enthusiasts.
 Marshall G. Cox, an exhibitor, sponsor, recently, Director of Acquisition for the Concours. He has been a ”car nut” for over 50 years, and although he has been reducing the size of his car stable, he still has come beautiful Aston martins, Rolls Royces, Jaguars, etc. One of the original “Old Fairchild Guys” he is now semi-retired. He was the CEO of Intersil Inc. and Western Microtechnology. He is presently Chairman of Cytori Therapeutics of San Diego, a public stem-cell company and Honorary Chairman of Internix, Inc., a public company in Japan. He is a member of the Candy Store and belongs to many car clubs. He is also the creator of the Marshall G. Cox Family Foundation which presents the Cox Trophy to the “Most Interesting Post-War British Automobile” each year at the Concours.

Ed Gilbertson
Ed Gilbertson is the Chief Judge of the Pebble Beach Concours d’Elegance, Palm Beach Bavalino Classic, and Legend of the Motorcycle International Concours. He is also the Chief Judge Emeritus of the Ferrari Club of American and the Founder/Chairman Emeritus of the International Advisory Council or the Preservation of the Ferrari Automobile (IAC/PFA). He was also Chief Judge for the famed FF40 show in Brussels and was Honorary Chief Judge for the 60th Anniversary of the Ferrari in Maranello, Italy. He also judged at the Louis Vuitton shows in London and Paris. He has been actively involved in Concours judging for over 30 years and is a noted authority on preservation and restoration issues. The first time he judge was at the Palo Alto Concourse in the 1970's and he served on the Advisory Committee for many years. His is also a member of the Pebble Beach Selection Committee and was a committee member for the recent Ferrari 250 GTO and Alfa Romeo 8C reunion tours. In addition to being a member of several marque clubs, he is an Honorary Member of the highly regarded Candy Store car club.

Martin Swig spent 40 years as a multi-franchise new ca
Martin Swigr dealer in San Francisco. Now an avid  car collection and historic car racer, he organizes various car tours, the best known of which is the annual four-day California Mille.

A long-time supporter of the Palo Alto Concours, he sponsors the “Forgotten Treasures” and “Mille Miglia” trophies awarded each year to esoteric vehicles. He also writes a monthly column or San Francisco’s Nob Hill gazette.

Chuck Kostalnick

Chuck Kostalnick is a seasoned distribution industry executive with more than 20 years of experience.
He is responsible for Avnet’s embedded division in the Americas region and joins the company with the Bell Micro acquisition. In this role, he takes on leadership of the Avnet Embedded division and is responsible for growing Avnet’s embedded system sales.

He has held senior management positions with Arrow Electronics and Marshall Industries and previously worked for a time at Avnet. He joined Bell Micro in 2005, as vice president of systems builder sales and went on to manage the OEM sales organization. He was promoted to senior vice-president of the Technology Solutions group, where he was responsible for sales in the OEM and enterprise markets business development and growth in Bell’s value-add business. He served as president of North American Distribution from May 2009 until July 2010, with responsibilities for the entire region. 

Ron Kimball
Ron Kimball is one of the most published automotive and animal photographers in the world. His work frequent appears on national magazine  covers, including Time, Automobile and AutoWeek. Ron’s advertising photography is in national demand. In 2000, he created the cover for the 50th Anniversary Pebble Beach Concours program and their poster. He is a generous donor of special photography for the Palo Alto Concours. Ron has created many of the covers for previous editions of our Concours programs.

Martin’s wife, Esta, races an Alfa Romeo Sprint Zagato. His son, David, is also an able racer and emerging motoring photojournalist. His younger son, Howard, races in the Monterey Histories and has also participated, along with brother David, in the “24 hours of LeMons.”

Past Honorary Chairs

 2000  Bill Walsh
 Raymond "Dee"
 2001  Jules Heumann
 2007  Ray Purpur
 2002  Martin Swig
 2008  Bob Bowlsby
 2003  Ed Gilbertson
 2009  Elisa Stephens
 2004  Marshall Cox
 2010  Martin Swig
 2005  Sid Colberg
 2011  Ray Purpur
     2012  Jack Passey

Peninsula Shops supports the Palo Alto Concours and helps support this website.

Your comments and suggestions are welcome. Please contact our offices.

Powered by Wild Apricot Membership Software